LCFC Journal #2: “To Rise & Fall in July”

26 Jul

11For some reason, I happen to love the month of July. If you were to ask me, “why so?” I honestly wouldn’t be able to provide you with an exact answer. However, there are many reasons as to why I love it. Growing up as a kid, July meant the official start of summer and that school was no longer a lingering concern.

July was when you really got a chance to have fun without a care in the world. The warm weather attached to it is a plus depending on what region or geographic location you come from.

But there is something about the month in an existential way that resonates with me. Maybe it’s because I find it to be calm, soothing, mysterious and unique. Every time I experience it, I really feel at peace.12

The photographs displayed within this post were taken in July 2014. I was twenty-three at the time and my goal behind the shoot was to have some great visuals to display my connection to the month as well as my youth at large. This is exactly why I am publishing the book at this very moment. Because every time I experience it, I’m instantly transported to a place of familiarity and comfort.

With July, I feel as if I can always go back to being that kid who had a blast going to amusement parks, barbecues and parties.

Lastly, during this month the sun is immense and active as it is visibly present within the atmosphere and hovers above throughout the day just before descending into its shell.

For these reasons I will always adore and have love for July, also known as my favorite month of the year. 21

Yours Truly,

Kev Elev

“Life Comes From Concrete”

A Poetry Collection/Memoir by Kevin Anglade

w/ Photography by: Neil Roy Diaz

Available Now Wherever Books Are Sold

 

 

 

5 Responses to “LCFC Journal #2: “To Rise & Fall in July””

  1. Kym Gordon Moore July 28, 2016 at 8:25 pm #

    I love July too…perhaps it’s because it’s the month I start to celebrate my birthday! I celebrate for a whole year and if God willing, I simply start celebrating all over again on July 1st of the next year. 🙂

    • Kevin Anglade July 28, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      I agree Kym. And that makes perfect sense. The month itself is magical although for me, it just cannot be explained.

      • Kym Gordon Moore July 28, 2016 at 10:37 pm #

        Kevin, sometimes some things can’t be explained…just felt. Sometimes just taking in the essence speaks louder than words ever could! 🙂 Stay poetically encouraged!

  2. Magda September 7, 2016 at 3:22 am #

    I love your ambition darling and you have my full support 😊

    • Kevin Anglade September 7, 2016 at 3:30 pm #

      Thank you so much Magda. I really appreciate your genuine support all of the way. 😀

Leave a Reply

