BOOK THUG NATION (Indie Bookstore) Stocks FLOWERED CONCRETE Publications

13 Aug
Indie bookstore Book Thug Nation in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY

Indie bookstore Book Thug Nation in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY

Is now the home of Tales of the 23RD PRECINCT & The Serpent Samurai

Is now the home of Tales of the 23RD PRECINCT & The Serpent Samurai courtesy of FLOWEREDCONCRETE/DRAWINGREALM

 

 

Hello everyone,

 

Welcome to the month of August! As hard as it is to believe, I find it rather astonishing that the summer is almost over. In a matter of two weeks I’ll be headed back to school to finish up my last semester as an undergrad at Brooklyn College (Thank Heavens). I really can’t believe how time truly flies. And so, with the days passing by, I’m already gearing up to slow down with all of the extracurricular activities that I have been able to enjoy so freely this summer.

Since time is of the essence, I would like for all of you to know that Alton Taylor and I have been working really hard in order to finish off the year right and to catapult Flowered Concrete to new and incredible heights in 2014. One of our biggest goals at the top of the year was accomplished this summer as Alton and I were able to stock two copies each of Tales of the 23RD Precinct and The Serpent Samurai into a very cool indie book store located on Bedford Avenue and North 3rd Street in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, NY called Book Thug Nation. As we walked into Book Thug Nation on Sunday, August 11th, we felt that it was home from the moment we entered it. The way that the books were neatly stacked on every single shelf gave the shop a retro and vintage look that obviously has been maintained for years. After filling out information for our consignments, Alton and I felt a sense of relief and elation. The woman behind the bookshops counter who had accepted our books upon filling out our consignments told us to return within six months time in order to collect unpaid royalties for the books if  they actually sell. And so, as we left the shop I couldn’t help but shudder in excitement; to know that we would return to the bookstore within six months to pick up possible royalties and see the progression of our books at that moment definitely gave me the spooks.

Now don’t get me wrong, we’re happy that we actually got our books into a bookstore but we know that it is still early in the stages for Flowered Concrete as a company and what we as an indie publisher hope to accomplish. We’re also not oblivious to failure and therefore we must look at the scary possibilities as well. There’s always the likelihood that Alton and I go back to Book Thug Nation somewhere within the next six months and we find the four little copies of our books stacked neatly upon the shelves or even worse, hiding behind new consignment releases that have come to compete with other aspiring indie titles. And so, I believe that the only thing we can do as a growing company is to continue to place our books in stores that are willing to accept them and to continue to push our brand relentlessly with all of the outside resources that we have in our possession. I mean, what’s the point of being in this business if you’re not going to take chances when doing something that you love and something that you believe can impact children and adolescents around the world? My only thoughts about these ideas are:

1.) Just wait and see (Follow through with a plan)

2.) Continue to believe and to put your best foot forward in everything regarding the brand.

3.) The best moves are ALWAYS risks because the payoff rate is EXTREMELY HIGH!

Lastly, if anyone shops around the Bedford Avenue & North 3rd Street area in Williamsburg, Brooklyn and is highly interested in reading books of all sorts in the fiction genre, we here at Flowered Concrete would like you to know that Tales of the 23RD PRECINCT is now on sale at Book Thug Nation for $5.99 and The Serpent Samurai as well for $11.99.

 

– Kevin Anglade

– CEO/Founder/Blogger/Author

– FLOWERED CONCRETE

“Dream For Anything, Reach For Everything”

 

One Response to “BOOK THUG NATION (Indie Bookstore) Stocks FLOWERED CONCRETE Publications”

  1. awax1217 August 27, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    I went to Brooklyn College in the sixties. I hope you have much success with your venture. I have just finished a serial killer book and am looking to publish it. I was thinking of ebooks but loved the idea that you are near my old college. If you think it has merit I will send you the first chapter. Maybe you can put the book in your store and capitalize on the fact that it was done by a Brooklyn College Graduate. Let me know. My email address is awax@tampabay.rr.com You can look at my about to get an idea of whom I am. Take Care, Barry

Leave a Reply

