A GRAPHIC NOVEL: The Serpent Samurai FINALLY RISES!

22 Jun
The second official  published work of Flowered Concrete and the first one in a physical setting.

The second official published work of Flowered Concrete and the first one in a physical setting.

Good evening everyone,

It is currently one hour shy to Saturday, the 22nd of June as I write this and as the official first day of a new season, myself and everyone at Flowered Concrete would like to wish you all a very happy official first day of summer! Today, we are here to celebrate and rejoice in great news as our lead art director, Alton Taylor, has officially received the first official copy of his graphic novel The Serpent Samurai! Here at Flowered Concrete, we couldn’t be happier as Alton has put in nothing but work, sweat, blood and tears into his first project (as he does with any of our material). Ever since I hand picked Alton to be the lead art director/artist of the company back in October, I knew that I was adding someone to the roster who was a diligent worker, persistent in nature and had a vision just like myself in everything that he decided to be apart of. I first got word that Alton was working on the project in December during one of our first few meetings about the company and our plans to grow and prosper as an indie publishing brand. At first, Alton quizzed my passion and seriousness about it (as he should have) to see if I was really up to the task of releasing projects in the future that would build and enhance a publishing brand.

After working on my first official short-story called FRANKLY TWISTED and it’s successor, (my book in which I won’t name; This post is all about Alton today) Alton slowly but surely continued to build and create his project that would soon be called The Serpent Samurai. Once he had the graphic novel completed in its entirety, Alton struggled to find a home for the project as he played with the likes of Createspace and ComicXpress. The first of which would not print a work that focused on PDF images within the book’s interior, and ComicXpress which after ten years of service, went defunct and shut down as a company recently just this past week. Now Alton is immensely satisfied as he has found a home with comfortableness and stability in regards to LuLuPress as he plans for many of his projects down the road.

A preview from Alton Taylor's The Serpent Samurai

A preview from Alton Taylor’s The Serpent Samurai

Alton first published The Serpent Samurai on LuLu as an e-book back in April for $5.99. It is only now that he can  proudly say that he has officially published the work on LuLu in its physical frame! Today, as I was doing some shopping with my sister, I heard a voicemail from Alton after I had apparently missed his call. I remember vividly as his voice was chock full of jubilant vibes when he said, “Kevin, dude, this shit came out awesome, The Serpent Samurai is definitely a go! You have no idea how fucking perfect this book is right now. The cover, the back cover! The size is bigger than what I was expecting, I thought that it would come out the same size as your book but it came out bigger! You have no idea how excited I was, I started jumping up and down like a fucking kid just when I saw that everything was perfect. I’m almost getting to tears and shit and I was just calling to let you know.”

Now, let me tell all of you guys something, I’ve come across a few passionate young men in my very short existence on this earth. From singers, to poets, dancers, rappers, etc. But the emotion that I heard in Alton’s voice when I got that voicemail was a beautiful thing. It told me that I brought the right person along to start this business with and it shows that the man is an artist, hands down! He truly takes pride in his craft and you just can’t knock a young man down who has such remarkable talents and that sees a vision while doing everything in his power to achieve it. I guess what I’m trying to say is that The Serpent Samurai is officially available for purchase online at http://www.lulu.com/shop/alton-taylor/the-serpent-samurai/paperback/product-21080302.html for $19.30 and it will most certainly blow you away. Also, this is the very first official release for Flowered Concrete in a paperback physical format as our first book, (as I stated before will not be named in this entry) was handled and prepped by Flowered Concrete but published physically by Createspace.

A very vibrant and vivid illustration within Alton Taylor's The Serpent Samurai available for purchase now on Lulu.com

A very vibrant and vivid illustration within Alton Taylor’s The Serpent Samurai available for purchase now on Lulu.com

Therefore, here’s to Alton’s first book!! May it be his first of many, and let it strongly impact the children of tomorrow that are constantly looking for inspiration but have nowhere  to turn to in these troubled times. Alton is most certainly a prime example of one of our mantras which can be read below. So in closing, I’d just like to say congrats to my comrade, my partner, and one of my now very closest friends, Alton Taylor.

Alton warming up the crowd at the May 30th Open Mic in LeftField about the yet-to-be released Serpent Samurai

Alton warming up the crowd at the May 30th Open Mic in LeftField about the yet-to-be released Serpent Samurai

 

Alton, as he continued to inform the crowd on his now available project, The Serpent Samurai

Alton, as he continued to inform the crowd on his now available project, The Serpent Samurai

P.S. Keep on shooting for the stars Alton, because if you do, you’ll eventually be a man on the moon.

“Dream For Anything, Reach For Everything”

– Kevin Anglade FCP CEO/Founder/Blogger/Author

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

