Transitions: From Stage Performance to Behind The Pen

12 Jun

Hello Guys,

Once again, I would just like to thank everyone and anyone who has contributed in some shape or form to the Flowered Concrete Publishing brand. As the summer creeps nearer, we here at Flowered Concrete are excited about a few of the releases that we have in store upon the next few months to come. However, today, I would like to talk about something different. My own transition from stage performance to writing as well as poetry. As far as I can remember, my acting days go back to 2000, when I performed in my elementary school’s third grade production of “West Side Story” in Miami, Florida. It was then and there where I had gotten my first taste and thrill in acting. It wouldn’t happen again until eight years later, when I performed in a high school production for the summer of 2008 at Queensborough Community College in the Shakespearean classic “A Midsummer’s Night Dream.”

Kevin Anglade as the customer, alongside Johnathan Palmiotti as Seymour Krelbourn, and Aristos Reglas as Mr. Muschnik

Kevin Anglade as the customer, alongside Johnathan Palmiotti as Seymour Krelbourn, Aristos Reglas as Mr. Muschnik and Danielle Flemming as Audrey

From there, I just took off as I then enrolled in Queensborough full-time after graduating from Martin Van Buren High School in 2009. My first production at QCC was a melo-dramatic comedy called “In Arabia We’d All Be Kings”. It was a great play that completely bolstered my confidence to allow me to audition for QCC’s adaptation on Howard Ashman’s Broadway Musical “Little Shop of Horrors”. That play was truly one of  my best works as an actor and one that I will always cherish due to the fact that I had to exhibit a diversifying range of talent for playing five characters. It was around the same time where I took a creative writing class in Detective Fiction and penned my first short-story called “Trouble is My Middle Name.” I’m pretty sure many of you know what has happened since then. If it wasn’t for my exposure to creative writing, there wouldn’t be any “Tales of the 23RD PRECINCT”. Sometimes when I look back at it, I find it honestly weird that in the past year and a half, I have gone from an actor who always considered it to be his first priority, to a writer that is sincerely enthralled with what he does.

Kevin Anglade as the customer in the shop.

Kevin Anglade as the customer in the shop.

After wrapping up my time at QCC, I then moved on to attend Brooklyn College to major in English. It was there where I seen a group of poets called the BC  Slam Team at one of the college’s open mic’s and I said to myself: “Hey, I can do that! And maybe even better, (no disrespect SlamTeam) and once again I picked up my pen and immersed myself into the world of poetry. Last summer alone, I planned to write  a poem or two, but after reading Tupac’s “The Rose That Grew From Concrete” and listening to hip-hop of the golden age, I then proceeded to write approximately 30 poems that summer. Don’t get me wrong, to this day, I love acting and there is no doubt in my mind that I will always love the art but as an artist, one shouldn’t limit him or herself to one field. They should continue to push the boundaries and eclipse all aspects of art that they honestly enjoy.

Kevin Eleven performing at T.E.A. Foundation's Open Mic Night in April

Kevin Eleven performing at the T.E.A. Foundation’s Open Mic Night in April

When it’s all said and done, I hope to be a renaissance man that did it all and loved every single art form that he put his heart into. To anyone who is hesitant in participating in numerous art forms because of uncertainty, remember not to worry about falling flat on your face. I say screw that! Just do whatever  that pleases you and in terms of your skill, what comes naturally. Who knows, you may become the next Frank Sinatra, Will Smith, Tupac Shakur, or, you just may end up like one of my favorite guys right now in Hollywood, Donald Glover.

Kevin Anglade as Skipsnip in "Little Shop of Horrors"

Kevin Anglade as Skipsnip in “Little Shop of Horrors”

– Kevin Anglade FCP CEO/Founder/Blogger/Author

“Dream For Anything, Reach For Everything”

Leave a Reply

